Online Events

Free webinar on how authors respond to book bannings and how librarians can support them

Posted on September 22, 2016

What’s it like to be the author of a banned or challenged book?  How do authors respond in these situations and how can librarians support them and the freedom to read? In honor of Banned Books Week, three authors will address these questions and more during a free webinar on September 29th at 8 a.m. PDT/11 a.m. EDT., and Presented by the American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom and SAGE Publishing, the webinar will include perspectives from:

Jessica Herthel

Jessica Herthel, a graduate of Harvard Law School and a co-author of I Am Jazz, a children’s picture book about a transgender girl

Christine BaldacchinoChristine Baldacchino, a former early childhood educator, and the author of the widely-acclaimed book Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress
Wendy DonigerWendy Doniger, Mircea Eliade Distinguished Service Professor of the History of Religions at the University of Chicago, and author of The Hindus: An Alternative History; and On Hinduism, which portrays the history of Hinduism outside of mainstream perspectives.

Following the three presentations, there will be some time for Q&A. Register to attend the live webinar session by clicking the button below. (All registrants will receive a link to the webinar recording, so register even if you cannot attend the live event.)

Thursday, September 29th

8am PDT| 9am MST| 10am CST| 11am EDT | 4pm BST

Register

 

The webinar will be moderated by Vicky BakerDeputy Editor of Index on Censorship magazine. Index on Censorship is an international organization that promotes and defends the right to freedom of expression.